Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Feb. 21, 2003 - 2:29 p.m.

The ice has all melted from the trees, leaving behind a mess of tangled and broken branches all over the place. Thus, I'm glad I got back my photos I took on Sunday afternoon just after the storm blew over. I hope you enjoy!


Just around the corner from my apartment - I consider myself very lucky to have found a spot by my building because I usually park on this street if I can't find anywhere else to park. Four cars were pretty much totaled from falling trees, limbs, etc.


The trees that fell across Rose Street. This was a pretty big problem, as it's one of the main streets connecting campus and downtown. I ended up directing traffic for about 45 minutes to get people around the mess.


Now for the more beautiful remnants of the storm... Main Street, downtown between Limestone and Upper. The crackling of ice as it slowly shattered from the trees was amazing.


Standing diagonally across the Fifth Third Bank (a.k.a. The Big Blue Phallus)building at Main and Mill.


A fountain in front of the old court house downtown. This is one of those things you never even realize exists until you get out of the car and walk around. The effect created by the ice was amazing.

And that is my photo essay on the Ice Storm of '03. You may be dismissed now.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!