Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Oct. 10, 2002 - 12:53 p.m.

Due to a complete lack of creative motivation on this, the dreariest of dreary days, I will post something I've promised I'd post for weeks. Inspired by Magpie's brownie recipe, I submit for your enjoyment the recipe to something very near and dear to my heart. I present to you, Mexican Ring Thing.

-------------Cut here to put in your recipe book-------------

TrendyMatt's Mexican Ring Thing

(inspired by TrendyMom)

Ingredients:

-One can of Pillsbury crescent rolls (I always use the Kroger brand, 'cause who can afford that swanky Pillsbury stuff anyway)
-One pound of ground beef (I use ground pork, 'cause it's better for you and tastes better, in my humble opinion)
-A jar of Chi-Chi's Medium Fiesta salsa (this CANNOT be substituted for any other brand)
-One packet of Mexican seasoning (I have no brand loyalty in this area)
-One huge-ass package of Sargento Shredded Mexican Cheese (again, no substitution!)
-Sour cream and guacamole to serve on the side

Cooking instructions:

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. On an ungreased baking sheet, roll out the crescent rolls into one flat sheet. Notice the triangles cut into the dough? Yeah, go ahead and separate those. But don't follow the instructions and wrap 'em up all pretty-like. No!

Arrange the triangles in the center of the baking sheet so that they form a multi-pointed star ring. See? It's not that difficult. Now, brown the ground beef and drain it. Add in the mexican seasoning and cook it according to the directions on the package.

Once the meat is all good and Mexican-ish, throw about half of the package of cheese into the meat while it's still hot. Stir it all around so it gets all nice and melty. Yeah, just like that.

Now, here comes the fun part. Spoon the cheesy Mexican meat mixture onto the crescent roll ring, leaving the middle open. See how it's starting to look like a ring thing? Yeppers. Now, spoon some salsa on top of the meat. It is now time to get all crafty.

You'll have to just picture this one, as I don't have any visual aids. When you spooned the meat mixture onto the crescent rolls, the points of the stars should be sticking out the sides of the ring. See? Now, fold those points in to the middle of the ring, all the way around. It should now look like a huge meat-filled cruller.

The oven should be heated by now. If not, you should probably call a repair person to have that looked at. Whack the Mexican Ring Thing in the oven (yes, I watch The Naked Chef) and let it bake as long as the directions on the crescent roll package say to cook them. It's usually something like 15 minutes. Remove the ring thing from the oven and be prepared to amaze your friends!

-------------Cut here to put in your recipe book-------------

And that, my friends, is what I call fine cuisine.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!